# **Opening Session and Awards Ceremony**

Monday, September 25, 2017 4:00 PM Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place

### **Welcoming Remarks**

- Pete Sullivan, General Meeting Co-Chair (with Tim Carr)
- Andrew Waggener, President, Appalachian Geological Society
- Tim Carr, Chair, Department of Geology & Geography, West Virginia University
- Michael Hohn, Director and State Geologist, West Virginia Geological & Economic Survey
- John Hickman, President, Eastern Section, AAPG

### **Introduction of National AAPG Officers**

- Charles Sternbach, President, AAPG
- Dan Schwartz, Vice-President, Sections
- David Entzminger, Chair, AAPG House of Delegates
- Jim Hill, President, AAPG Division of Professional Affairs

#### **Honors and Awards**

Joan Crockett, Chair, Honors and Awards Committee, Presiding Ed Rothman and Murray Matson, Honors and Awards Committee Members

### Eastern Section AAPG 2017 Presentation Awards from 2016 Annual Meeting

**A.I. Levorsen Memorial Award Best Paper Award:** David R. Blood, "Redox Conditions during deposition and early diagenesis of the U. Ord. Point Pleasant Ls of southwestern PA and northern WV: Insights from pyrite framboids and trace elements"

**Division of Environmental Sciences Best Poster Award (Eastern Section):** Ethan S. Davis, "Revising the Fresh-Saline Water Interface in Eastern Kentucky"

**Division of Environmental Geosciences Best Paper Award (Eastern Section):** Amy Townsend "Small Stable isotopic constraints on methane migration into groundwater and emissions to the atmosphere from unconventional natural gas extraction: Examples from OH, CO, TX"

**Energy Minerals Division Best Poster Award (Eastern Section):** Tyler S. Bodine, "An Analysis of a Near-Surface Big Clifty (Jackson) Sandstone Reservoir in Logan County, Kentucky"

Ralph L. Miller Memorial Best Energy Minerals Division Paper Award (Eastern Section): Julie Floyd, "Subsurface Analyses of the Bedford-Berea Petroleum System in Eastern Kentucky"

**Vincent E. Nelson Memorial Best Poster Award:** Joel R. Sminchak, "Subsurface Geomechanics, Fracture Breakdown Pressures, and Fracture-tunnels in the Midwest U.S."

Pittsburgh Geological Society Award for Best Presentation on Appalachian Geology: David R. Blood, "Redox Conditions during deposition and early diagenesis of the U. Ord. Point

Pleasant Ls of southwestern PA and northern WV: Insights from pyrite framboids and trace elements"

Margaret Hawn Mirabile Memorial Best Student Paper Award: Allison L. Young, "Late Ordovician (Katian) Upper Lexington-Kope Equivalents in the Point Pleasant Basin of Eastern Ohio: Correlation and Paleonenvironments of the Utica Point Pleasant System"

**Best Student Poster Award:** Andrew M. Parent, "New Insights into Precambrian Seismic Stratigraphy, South-Central Indiana"

## **2017 Eastern Section AAPG Service Awards**

Certificates of Merit (2016 Annual Meeting Committee): Pete Sullivan, Tim Carr, Emily Jordan, Joe Cook, K. Lee Avary, Ed Rothman, Drew Waggener, Paula Hunt, Joe Lebold, Ron McDowell, Mitch Blake, Phil Dinterman, Jessica Moore, and Frank LaFone

Division of Environmental Geology Meritorious Contributions Award: E. Scott Bair

Gordon H. Wood, Jr. Memorial Award: Robert Milici

**Outstanding Educator Award:** Ann Harris

George V. Cohee Public Service Award: Albert Kollar

**Distinguished Service Award:** John Hickman

Honorary Membership: Charles Sternbach

John T. Galey Memorial Award: Robert Jacobi

:: End of Opening Session and Awards Ceremony ::

All meeting attendees are invited to the icebreaker (including dinner) which will begin at 6:00pm at *Oliverio's Ristorante On The Wharf*, 52 Clay Street, Morgantown. The restaurant is a short scenic walk away, just exit the Waterfront Hotel doors adjacent the check in desk and take the steps to your left down to the scenic Caperton Trail. Turn right onto the Caperton Trail and walk along the Monongahela River for just over a ¼ mile to Oliverio's. We'll see you there!